Growing maincrop potatoes for boiling

• 8 Replies

bobbyt

• Experienced Member
  • Still Learning !
Growing maincrop potatoes for boiling
« on: January 01, 2021, 12:23 »
Hi Everyone,
I have been growing potatoes for a few years now, but have never had any success in growing maincrop potatoes that can be boiled, they normally all just go to mush, and not even suitable for mash as you can't get rid of the water completely. I have tried different varieties, Maris Piper, King Edward etc, but they all seem to be lousy for boiling.

I normally grow them in a trench and cover with MP compost then earth back on top. Then I earth them up as they grow. I buy the seed from a local reputable garden centre. The soil I grow them in is ph of 6.0, but is cloggy clay. I add soil improvers and manure every year, it is a lot better than it used to be, but still quite sticky when wet, and parts of it rock hard in dry spells in summer.

Just wondering if anyone has any constructive advice, if there's anything I can try at all, or is it largely dependant on weather and watering, or just luck ! I'm on the verge of just doing First Earlies, as they are ok, but then I can't store them for long.

I should add that my wife is a big fan of boiled potatoes, but not mash or chips, and as she's the head chef, I need to get it right  ;) ! Any ideas appreciated.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Growing maincrop potatoes for boiling
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2021, 14:06 »
I'd try growing a waxier variety like Desiree, they tend to hold together a bit better than the floury varieties. 

bobbyt

• Experienced Member
  • Still Learning !
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2021, 14:28 »
Thanks mumofstig, I looked in my allotment diary, and I tried those a few years ago, only comment I wrote at the time was ' lots of tiny holes and bad parts '.  I'll give them another chance though, may have been my ground at the time. Ideally I want to do two varieties of maincrop, can you recommend another waxy one?