Rubbish Mum or Mother nature?

• 13 Replies

JaK

• Happy half plot.
Rubbish Mum or Mother nature?
« on: August 23, 2012, 12:20 »
Ethel my broody Salmon Faverolles hen has eggs hatching today. When I went to let my chickens out this morning Ethel was already up and about. While she had some food I looked in on the eggs to find two perfectly formed chicks, both had died and were stone cold, they were also on the edge of her nest. Do you think Ethel could be wondering what on earth those thing were and kicked them out?
There are five more eggs in the nest all cheeping away, really hope they make it.

Just wanted to add that this is the first time Ethel has been a Mum too.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2012, 12:22 by JaK »

PaulineM

Re: Rubbish Mum or Mother nature?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 12:42 »
I've only ever let a broody hatch once and one chick hatched and she was a great Mum so I'm not that experienced. It sounds like she left the chicks, perhaps she didn't know what to do. I would be tempted to lock her in with the eggs that are pipping if she will return to sit on them.  Good luck and keep us posted  :)
1 Hubby, 2 children, 2 Welsummers, 1 Leghorn Banty, 1 Wyandotte Banty, 1 Barnevelder, 2 Isa Brown, 1 Rhode Island, 1 Goldline,1 Maran, 2 Mottled Leghorns, 1 Leghorn cockerel & 2 Jack Russells

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2012, 12:54 »
as she is new to the hatching game she may well have thought once they are hatched then that is her job done. I had one like that who as soon as she bought her chicks back to the garden (she hatched them in the hedgerow somewhere) she ran off and abandoned them. Luckily I had another very broody hen who was an excellent mum so I slipped them underneath her and she raised them. You need to get a heat lamp or electric hen straight away for the other eggs.
Staffies are softer than you think.

JaK

• Happy half plot.
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2012, 08:05 »