Materials Allowed on Allotments

• 6 Replies

ThamesPlotter

• No Bull Here!!
Materials Allowed on Allotments
« on: March 26, 2021, 19:49 »
I recently have had a debate with others on the allotment about material coming on to site that is not environmentally friendly, namely vulcanised rubber (industrial) conveyor belt that they want to lay as a path! Has anyone else had this material on their plot?
Has anyone knowledge of the potential environmental issues using this?
The (Council) Allotment Management have not come across this material before and are going to investigate.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Materials Allowed on Allotments
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2021, 09:50 »
It may depend on what is allowed or forbidden in the tenancy agreement.  Tyres used to be used to form planter stacks - but there are now rules on the 'disposal' of tyres, which might rule out bringing them onto the plot these days.  What you describe is something different, and I have no experience of it, sorry.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

ThamesPlotter

• No Bull Here!!
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2021, 22:08 »
Council Allotment Management have said that Industrial (Vulcanised) Conveyor belt and rubber tyres are allowed on site,  providing they are removed when you give up ypur plot!!🤔🤔🤔
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 22:09 by ThamesPlotter »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2021, 17:41 »
Well that seems reasonable  :)

The bunny

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2021, 07:46 »
I am personally on a quest to rid my own plot of all unnecessary plastic, including pots. As a 60s child my father gardened all his life , seed trays were wooden , pots were clay. The greenhouse at home was wooden. the watering can metal. The smell of these damp items remains fixed in my memory.  I don’t think I have ever seen a wooden seed tray for sale!  Somehow people managed then, why not now.

Welsh Merf

« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2021, 06:57 »