What's happening to my greenhouse veg ? :-(

• 9 Replies

aneng

What's happening to my greenhouse veg ? :-(
« on: June 23, 2011, 11:59 »
Hi,

I'm a complete novice gardener, and I've got some veg growing in my greenhouse, but all the leaves are going yellow and drying out / have lots of small holes in.  Could someone more experienced than I take a look at these pics please and offer any advice ?

Cucumber leaves:

Butternut Squash leaves:

Cherry Tomato leaves:

Chilli / Pepper (not sure !) leaves:

I've grown all of these from seed, and I think they're all going to end up dead unless I can stop whatever it is from attacking them. :(

Any ideas ?

Many thanks.

davidmw

Re: What's happening to my greenhouse veg ? :-(
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 12:25 »
I've got a cucumber with similar leaf to yours turning brown around the edges and also found 1 leaf on my tomatoes had quite a few holes in aswell. I thought it was possibly from water but not quite sure.

Scullion

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2011, 12:34 »
I had similar problems with my tomato plants, without the holes. As the leaves began changing colour to that yellowish colour, I began snipping them off, and the rest of the plants currently remain in good condition with the problem not spreading.

I was also told to ensure that the green house has plenty of ventilation!?!

davidmw

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2011, 12:41 »
I am wondering if that could be one of my problems as I havent been opening the door or windows on warm days.  will start opening the vent in the day time and see if it helps

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2011, 12:54 »
What conditions are they growing in - It is easy for the greenhouse to get too hot this time of year even for cucumbers. I leave the greenhouse door and window slightly open to ensure good ventilation and stop the temp getting too high. It also helps to control fungal growth.