Best advice on getting started with a PT please?

• 7 Replies

DIY GRANDAD

Best advice on getting started with a PT please?
« on: May 11, 2020, 18:51 »
Hello, I have read a lot of the posts on poly-tunnels, and feel a lot better informed than I was, but still have some doubts about striking out with my own tunnel.

I am a retired farmer so the growing aspects are no problem to me, nor the construction detail. But there is nothing like learning from the experience of others, no matter how much knowledge we may think we have!

I acquired my plot last year and have been slowly 'renovating' the land and getting it back into good heart. The major area I might yet put into green manure with some mustard for rotovating-in. The plot is one of many out in the fields close to a large river estuary, maybe half a mile from the river bank and at about 10 metres above sea level (using GPS). It is on the lower slope of a chalk hill and a nice medium loam with no drainage problems and has a gritty clay subsoil always nicely moist at about 2 ft deep from the surface.

Prevailing wind like most of the country is from the west/south west, but being near the coast we also get the occasional easterly blast too. But poly tunnels are allowed as they reduce the structures with glass panes thus eliminating damage and glass danger.

The plot is east/west, so generally we all grow plants north/south for evenness. It is exposed, although I have a tall hedge on the east about 10 yards from my proposed tunnel site. Looking around the site, I have neighbours with greenhouses but not poly tunnels, though there is a good spread of poly cloches.