Planted my spuds

• 27 Replies

Iain@JBA

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.jbaseedpotatoes.co.uk
Planted my spuds
« on: April 18, 2009, 20:17 »
Got all my spuds planted outside today and it took less than 2hrs.
Should have some really good results.
This is just the first wave as I have more to plant out very soon. :D

Visit my website and view my potato blog and videos.

Yabba

Re: Planted my spuds
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2009, 20:33 »
88 pots in 2 hours? ... damn, even I can plant faster than that ... mind you, that;s only cos I was late rotavating the beds last year and we had 6 hours to plant 700 dahlias .. this year I fully intend to get the beds rotavated a damn sight earlier ;)

¥

Elcie

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2009, 20:34 »
I find it interesting that, as a seed potato merchant, you plant yours in pots.  Any reason for the preference?  So far mine are in pots but only because I don't want to end up with any volunteers next season and I'm not that good at digging!

Looks brilliant by the way!

Iain@JBA

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2009, 20:46 »
I thought 2hrs was pretty good as I had to dig the trenches and mix the fertilizer in then carry all the pots out of the greenhouse and put in place and then give them a good watering :tongue2:

The reason they are in pots is because I hope to exhibit them this year and I want full control over how they grow. Each pot has its own measured fertilizer and calcified seaweed and just one potato per pot.
I grow 200 acres of potatoes the traditional way and thought this was really interesting after watching videos of other people doing it.
Just think how easy harvest will be. Chop the shaws off pick the pot up and empty it.
The compost mix can themn be re-used in flower beds and so on. :D
I have more information about this on my blog if you want to learn more.

Yabba

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2009, 07:45 »