• 5 Replies
« on: February 01, 2009, 18:08 »
Hi all as a total novice what should i actually be doing at this time of year. I have dug over forked in manure and am currently chitting some potatoes. should i be potting things up in the greenhouse? i just want the basics potatoes, cabbages, runner beans, peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, leeks, parsnips!

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 18:17 »
So many questions!

Firstly welcome to the forums. Have a look at this page on the site, it'll give you some idea of what you should be doing & when, but please don't be afraid to ask any specific questions.

http://www.allotment-garden.org/garden_month.php

I'll move this to "Grow You Own", where the topic is more suited, & maybe you could pop along to the "Welcome" forum & tell us a bit about yourself.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Steve.P

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2009, 19:36 »
Hi, and welcome,

First thing is, do it for yourself, don't try to please other people, it's not everyone's cup of tea. If your sure it's your thing, that's great. This time of year you could be potting up leeks, onions. You have done the basics, (turned the plot over, and manured) just follow the instructions on the seed packs to grow the veg in your list, and you should be fine. Also have a read through the many posts on here about the different veg.

Life is a heap of manure. Growing one minute, stinking the next.

Babstreefern

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2009, 20:54 »