Best Bee Book

• 2 Replies

The Red Baron

• Total newbie to all this green lark but willing!
Best Bee Book
« on: June 17, 2013, 21:18 »
Evening.....I'm looking to start keeping a hive or two. I've enrolled on my local BBKA course but that doesn't start until march! Just asking all beekeepers out there if there are any books for beginners you would recommend

ghost61

Re: Best Bee Book
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2013, 07:23 »
The Haynes manual, usually stocked by libraries, is a good start. Filled with lots of pictures and is an easy read. At my course, the tutors were of an age, and so all the books they recommended had been out of print for decades!

Swing Swang

Re: Best Bee Book
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2013, 08:12 »
Beekeeping - A Seasonal Guide - Ron Brown
Good balance between basics and more advances stuff, will probably be quite a useful reference for the first three years of beekeeping too. Nice ideas on protecting introduced queen cells with masking tape for example.

The Rose Hive Method - Tim Rowe
Basically beekeeping using 'one sized box' National Hives (deeper than a super, shallower than a brood chamber). Sold by Thorne's as the OSB. If you're just starting out this really is one to read especially as the management techniques that he describes are applicable to other hives. In particular he does not use a queen excluder, advocates inserting new boxes into the middle of the brood chamber before midsummer to develop large colonies, and he describes a simple way of increasing colonies. Some of the ideas will be different to the BBKA's standard approach, but it's worth considering using narrow 'foundation strips' in frames rather than sheets, and not using a queen excluder even if you don't feel brave enough to split the cluster with an empty box in the late spring.

Tob-Bar Hive Beekeeping Wisdom and Pleasure Combined - Wyatt A Mangum, Phd