Cherry Jam - not setting

• 24 Replies

Maryann

• Experienced Member
Cherry Jam - not setting
« on: June 28, 2014, 16:07 »
I've been making jam for about 4 years now and still loving it but every year I do struggle with getting a nice set on cherry jam no matter what recipe or method I use.
I was recently given some lovely cherries picked from wild tree - they tasted yummy. There was a mix of deep red ones through to yellowy/pink. I had too many to do them all at once so spread them out on trays and to my surprise they all turned red.
I had 3lbs fruit after pitting them and added 2lbs sugar to this and juice of 2 lemons. I also added some cherry juice (from some pin head cherries I had steamed) to simmer the cherries in before going to the boiling process. I had added a packet of T & L powder pectin to the sugar so was confident of a good set but no - even after 15 mins it was still runny. I hate to keep boiling it as it ruins the flavour and colour but what else can I do?

I know I could settle for runny jam and use it as a syrup etc but I need to get it to set as I sell all my preserves to raise money for charity so that isn't an option.

Anyone have trouble getting theirs to set?
I Came.....I Saw......I Composted

Beetroot Queen

Re: Cherry Jam - not setting
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2014, 21:31 »
Cherries are low in pectin, so google tells me. I always use equal sugar to fruit in a jam.

Maryann

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2014, 09:22 »
Cherries are low in pectin, so google tells me. I always use equal sugar to fruit in a jam.
Hi, yes cherries are very low which is why I used the packet of powdered pectin - this works well for me with other low pectin fruit but not great with cherries which is why I asked the question in case anyone else had any better options.