Winter Squash

• 8 Replies

Marcus10

Winter Squash
« on: September 10, 2012, 17:20 »
Hi, this is my first year growing  squash (winter squash Autumn Crown F1), as it is my first year growing most things! My first fruit looks like it has been fertilised, since it is starting to grow and the flower has dropped off. Now i know that my courgettes would only take less than a week to grow to harvest point from here but how long would a sqash typically take.

Also it looks like several other flowers have been fertilzed. How many fruit should I have on one plant. Should I limit this to a certan number eg 6, to give them all a chance  to grow.

Thanks from a novice.

Trillium

Re: Winter Squash
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 17:27 »
Once pollinated, a winter squash needs at least 2 months to mature. And yes, once you're sure the 'fruit' is growing, limit them to about 3 per vine by nipping off the vine just past the last set of fruit leaves. You'll still need to feed and water the plant (if not enough rain) so it can bulk up properly.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 17:46 »
Medwyn says about 5 fruits per plant
http://medwynsofanglesey.co.uk/shop/prod_334.html

but I don't where you live (please add a location to your profile) to hazard a guess at how long they still have to grow  :unsure:

Marcus10

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2012, 17:58 »
Thanks. I have modified my profile. I live in the SW so I will try five pumpkin. (and I'm confident of a long Indian Summer!)

gazza975526570

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2012, 18:55 »
would this be the same for butternut squash do you know?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2012, 19:04 »
butternuts usually need warmer weather than the other squash, unless they're bred for the UK climate, so you may not be so lucky with them.
I've got 4 on my Harrier (UK bred), so far, with no sign of any more setting  :(

gazza975526570

• Experienced Member