d i y coldframe

• 25 Replies

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: d i y coldframe
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2011, 18:47 »
Food for thought, thanks both  :D
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

lornaluft

« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2011, 20:53 »
Hi compostqueen. No lornaluft is not my real name. Im a big judy garland fan and Lorna Luft is the name of her 2nd daughter.

Dr Jim

« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2011, 21:33 »
I have just found this chat (I am new to the whole website) and am particularly interested in it as I plan to build a cold frame with a double glazed unit I have (after replacing windows in the house.)  I am limited by the dimensions of that window (4 feet x 2 feet), but am uncertain how high I should make it.  I have some lengths of timber 6 inches wide and some 4 inches wide.  Do I set the front (lowest level) at 4 inches, 6 inches or combined at 10 inches.  Sorry to seem so ignorant but I really am a novice at this (despite being 70 years of age!)

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2011, 21:56 »
If you think about the plants that your frame will house, you will get an idea of how low/high to set your front level.

The leaves sholdn;t be pressing against the glass..... you might want to both use the frame to harden off plants before setting them out, or to grow crops in during the winter.

Ten inches sounds a better bet imho, with the back higher if you can  :)
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Chrysalis

« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2011, 15:33 »
Thanks Sunshineband!  Might get around to making mine this weekend...in between making the base for the new greenhouse ( :D :D), revitalising the baskets for winter cabbage and garlic and relaxing, of course!
I shall attempt the higher front and even higher back as you suggest. C

Paul Plots