Newbie to chickens not sure if they will be safe from foxes.

• 16 Replies

hills999

Hi this is my first time on this forum just checking out information before i bought 4 chickens. I already have the coop but i am seriously considering not getting any chickens after reading about foxes.  I'm a single mum and can't afford the expense of installing electric fencing and a 6ft high fox proof fence, i would prefer not to bring lovely chickens into my garden if they are going to be under such threat from fox's. The chick house i have bought says it is fox proof but i am wondering. If anyone can look at the link i bought from and give me some advice i would be grateful before i doom innocent birds to a short life
Many thanks   
All advice very much appreciated. 
please look and advise.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Chicken-Coop-HEN-HOUSE-POULTRY-home-rabbit-Run-hutch_W0QQitemZ220541376730QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Pet_Supplies_Poultry?hash=item33594a58da         

taximan

Re: Newbie to chickens not sure if they will be safe from foxes.
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 19:47 »
cant see that theres owt wrong with the coop as long as they can freerange in the garden allday

hills999

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2010, 20:08 »
cant see that theres owt wrong with the coop as long as they can freerange in the garden allday
thanks for being the only person to reply as a new starter to chickens i need all the advice i can get.
thanks

neil9797

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2010, 20:33 »
I've got the same coop. Just make sure the:
(1) door and nest-box latches are secured - foxes can open basic latches
(2) fox cannot dig its way in. There are various ways to do this:
(a) bury a perimeter of chicken-wire all the way around the coop to a depth of >8inches
(b) place coop on concrete/paved area - but put a couple of inches of chipped-bark down so they can still scratch around.

There are plenty of fox-specific threads on the forum for more tips.

Don't let foxes freak you out!

N

neil9797