what has everybody got in the ground already?

• 32 Replies

lesley1322

what has everybody got in the ground already?
« on: June 02, 2010, 12:04 »
i think this has been asked lots but as its my first year & i'm not sure if i'm ahead or behind everyone... i was just wondering what everone has got in the ground already and what is still in the cold-frames etc?

:wub:
:)

Starling

• Experienced Member
Re: what has everybody got in the ground already?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2010, 12:09 »
Broad beans, peas, potatoes, onion, shallots and garlic in the ground.  Everything else is still being hardened off before planting out.  Runners and french beans only sown at the weekend as I just didn't have room.  Not sure if I have left everything too late as this is my first year too. :unsure:

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2010, 12:16 »
The late frosts this year have made everyone nervous, experienced or otherwise.

However, the beginning of June ought to mean that all the tender summer stuff can go outside after hardening off; just have some fleece standing by in case the weather still has yet another surprise up its sleeves!  ;)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

nipper31

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2010, 12:19 »
Potatoes (Charlotte and Sarpo Axona), red onions, beetroot, garlic, courgettes (not sure if I've planted them out too soon, they look a bit sad in the cold north-west ground)  ???

Little Gem, Lollo Rosso lettuces, Rocket, spring onions and carrots all in a big box raised up off the ground against slug damage and carrot fly  >:(

Raspberries, strawberries and blackcurrant already planted a couple of years  :)

Plottered

• Still on the same list!
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2010, 12:20 »