Gooseberries

• 7 Replies

Michael D

• Experienced Member
Gooseberries
« on: July 06, 2008, 20:40 »
Hi  All  
          This is my first time on this site  hello all, I just picked my first gooseberries today and wow,    they are the size of 50 ps and sweet, i grow them in raised beds with a lot of horse and cow muck dug in and cow muck on top to help keep the weeds down, the wife can`t beleive the differance from the ones she got from tescos.   She even said mine had a earthy smell and no smell from the ones from the shops. This is my first year on the alloment. :D

Hawthorne

Gooseberries
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2008, 21:05 »
Oh - I'm so looking forward to getting some gooseberry bushes into my lottie this autumn. I love them !

And welcome :D

Dominic

Gooseberries
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2008, 21:06 »
Its awesome.
I've got some blackcurrants, I can almost stand to eat them, whereas store bought ones, ewwww.
We use chemicals in this garden, just as god intended

londongardener

• Experienced Member
Re: Gooseberries
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 22:18 »
Quote from: "Michael D"
Hi  All  
          This is my first time on this site  hello all, I just picked my first gooseberries today and wow,    they are the size of 50 ps and sweet, i grow them in raised beds with a lot of horse and cow muck dug in and cow muck on top to help keep the weeds down, the wife can`t beleive the differance from the ones she got from tescos.   She even said mine had a earthy smell and no smell from the ones from the shops. This is my first year on the alloment. :D

Are they leveller gooseberries ?  I planted them as well late last year and they are so nice I eat more than I take in.

I think in Sainsburys they have invicta - not as nice.

willowman

• Experienced Member
Eating blackcurrants
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2008, 07:47 »