black plastic

• 3 Replies

lizzie1982

black plastic
« on: March 28, 2010, 17:51 »
Hello to everyone
I am after a bit of advice regarding black plastic. I have been reading the threads about sorting out new allotments, and keep reading about black plastic that helps to suppress weeds.
Where is the best place to order it from, as my plot is quite big- 50ft x 60ft. (not sure how many rods/poles that is?)
I would need quite alot, as we are only concentrating on a small area at the moment- about a quarter of the whole plot.
Also, we have dug out a bed of soil approx. 7ft square for planting spuds in. It is currently 1 spade deep and quite muddy. Should i put wood around it and then refill with compost and manure, or plant straight into the ground?
Any help is very much appreciated as I am a novice to allotments.

prakash_mib

Re: black plastic
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 18:32 »
doesnt need to be a prize winner. people fetch that kind of stuff from poundland. :)
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

Loubs

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 18:35 »
In your first year, a wise move would be to keep your spends to a minimum - cardboard will do the job at keeping weeds down just as well as black plastic, and you should be able to find it free - it'll do the job till you get round to digging those parts over.

Certainly worth investing in the plastic if allotmenteering becomes a passion.

Your other question about raised beds, is about how you want to garden - in theory, you don't need to dig over raised beds over every year. Some say digging destroys the soil stucture.