Thanks santa, heated greenhouse help!

• 6 Replies

Totty

Thanks santa, heated greenhouse help!
« on: December 25, 2010, 21:54 »
Merry Christmas All,

I have been really lucky this year, some solar rock lights to go up the lottie around the chickens to make life easier when its dark, a lovelly wooden growhouse to act as a cold frame, and also somewhere to bring on seedlings, and a parafinn greenhouse heater!

The heater really is something i have wanted for a while and i would love to grow some huge onions (more fore pleasure than show) which by tradition would require sowing tommorrow. I read the instuctions eagerly, left the wicks for an hour to soak up the fuel, lit it, half hour later its gone out and the wick that is sticking out is black and totally burnt looking. So i wound some more fresh wick out and lit it. Its still going but does anybody have one of these and how long does it take before the wick needs winding on usually? Im new to the whole heated greenhouse thing but i hope it will give me lots of early sowing options. Any advice appreciated!!

Totty

Nikkithefoot

Re: Thanks santa, heated greenhouse help!
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2010, 23:11 »
It can be a bit of an art form getting the wicks to burn easily and cleanly. Once lit the wick needs to be turned down so that there is a blue flame only showing. You might want to check a couple of times after 15 mins and again after about an hour. In my heater there was usually enough for 24 hours of burning but only just. I tended only to use it at night. Thus I didn't 'need' to wind the wick on until I relit it at night if you see what I mean.

Does that make sense?
I was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things; right now I am so far behind I will never die.

Totty

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2010, 11:28 »