Aspergillus news

• 6 Replies

muddifoot

• Experienced Member
Aspergillus news
« on: June 13, 2008, 08:34 »
reading on the bbc news today there is an article on aspergilli and a man dieing from it.  I think anyone who moves a lot of rotting wood and plant compost should make sure they read this article-

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Aspergillus news
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 08:44 »
I've corrected your spelling in the topic title Muddy, hope you don't mind  :D

Aspergillus Niger - long time since I studied that at college in microbiology.

Always used  to be called "Farmers Lung" which many people may know about -  Especially Joe Grundy  :lol:

muddifoot

• Experienced Member
Aspergillus news
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 08:53 »
-  thanks aunt sally what would I do without you - I'm always hurrying and I didn't read it before I sent it through.  I do think its something we should always be aware of-as last summer on a really hot windy day my friend and i were getting council compost from the heap and making a path-she dumped the barrow and I spread and the dust from it was horrible- the next day my throat was sore and I suffered from this for about 3 weeks- with bouts now and then after.  and it really worried me -so now i'm wondering if thats the sort of thing that starts it-

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Aspergillus news
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2008, 09:43 »
Aspergillosis develops quite slowly unless you are immunocompromised and then it can be very serious.  Frequent exposure as with farmers will make it more of a risk.

But if you are at all worried your doctor can have tests done !

WirralWally

• Experienced Member
Aspergillus news
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2008, 10:16 »
Here is the BBC News item:

CLICKY
The successes and failures of each year keep me motivated for the following year.

crowndale

Aspergillus news
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2008, 12:13 »