celery

• 4 Replies

Grubbypaws

celery
« on: September 11, 2023, 10:03 »
This is my first year growing celery. Initially I thought it a waste of time as the plants looked so feeble but they have thrived and are a constant supply of cut and come again stalks as and when we need one.

As the year is now getting on we are harvesting, blanching and freezing. I dont envisage buying celery ever again. If you haven't grown celery before I really recommend it. The variety I have grown is Victoria F1. It is self blanching, quick growing with a very good flavour. It also can be grown in places that you may have thought are too dry.

Kleftiwallah

Re: celery
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2023, 11:37 »
  Good morning Grubbypaws,
the reason you have a belly button is to store the salt when you eat celery in bed!

Oldies but goldies...   Cheers,  Tony. :nowink:
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

cc

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2023, 16:05 »
This is my first year growing celery. Initially I thought it a waste of time as the plants looked so feeble but they have thrived and are a constant supply of cut and come again stalks as and when we need one.

As the year is now getting on we are harvesting, blanching and freezing. I dont envisage buying celery ever again. If you haven't grown celery before I really recommend it. The variety I have grown is Victoria F1. It is self blanching, quick growing with a very good flavour. It also can be grown in places that you may have thought are too dry.
I reckon 3 plants are more than enough for one person just removing a couple stalks as needed.
But will a plant go through the whole season?
I tend to be a little late getting started on celery.

wighty

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2023, 16:18 »