Are water baths necessary?

• 6 Replies

TheSpartacat

Are water baths necessary?
« on: August 03, 2011, 13:18 »
Hi,
I'm relatively new to making chutney and relish.
I made lots of pickled beetroot last year and kept them all in the fridge (we were going through a jar a day so it wasn't such a space problem!) but i am reaaally confused with all the information on the internet as to whether putting the filled jars in a water bath is really necessary or not- if you want to store them in a cupboard.

The American sites all swear by using pressure canners on the pickles, but the UK ones seem to omit this stage. (Canners are SO expensive!!!)

I'm using jars with screw top lids- the lids are coated on the inside with plastic.
I'm sterilising them in boiling water, and then into a hot oven to dry... and filling and closing the lid when the pickle/chutney/jam is as hot as possible.

Do i then need to put them in a water bath in order to be able to store them in the cupboard? Everything i'm making so far has a high vinegar content (or sugar, in the case of jam)

(I don't have a saucepan that is quite deep enough to water bath them and am hoping its not a necessity)

« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 13:19 by TheSpartacat »

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Are water baths necessary?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 13:35 »
No you don't need the waterbath for pickles, chutneys or jams.

You do need to do it if you progress to bottling tomatoes and pasta sauces, though

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 17:35 »
MoS is right. As long as you have either enough sugar or enough vinegar in the jar, water bathing is adequate for pickles and such. I find only 5 minutes or so is fine, provided the contents were still hot when the jars went into the bath. It's a double check that the jars are properly sealed for longer storage. If you plan to eat them quickly, then its not needed.