Fertilising/feedling part way through the growing season

• 4 Replies

snipsnip

Hi!

Had a look, but this seems to be an odd (!) question, I can't find an answer...

Anyway, we got our allotment in December, and I had a baby in January. We managed to dig everything over and rid it of perennial weeds, but didn't have time to dig in manure as I wanted.

We went ahead with planting anyway, and have a good selection of fruit bushes, brassicas, gourds, legumes and potatoes growing.

My question is, can I improve the soil quality after planting, or is it too late for me to do it this year?

Any suggestions are welcomed, I'm new to this and  have no clue!

Thank you! :D :wub: :tongue2:

snowdrops

Re: Fertilising/feedling part way through the growing season
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2014, 06:33 »
You could give most things a feed now with chicken manure pellets,blood fish & bone or various non organic feeds. If you're plot hadn't been grown on for a few years & everything is growing well it will most likely be fine for this year. If you have the room order your manure early then you can stack it ready to add when there's a space.
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

Robster

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2014, 06:40 »
Snipsnip, congratulations on the birth of your baby.

Congratulations too on getting your allotment and getting some stuff in.

If it were me I'd try and have a good growing year this year and use blood fish and bone and Crowmore to keep the crops fed.  If I had some materials for mulching I'd use that, otherwise I'd not worry too much this year.  Improving the soil is a long term process manuring, green manure, compost, rotation all the things you read about.  So starting immediately is not really so urgent.  When you have some bare ground in the autumn and winter then you'll have a clear run to enact a plan.

Enjoy

Goosegirl

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2014, 14:21 »