how deep?

• 7 Replies

jameshaigh

how deep?
« on: June 07, 2009, 00:50 »
hi all,
im new to this game and im about to set up a raised bed to grow some veg with my young son,
i would like to grow some lettuce, carrotts, parsnips, turnip etc,
but should i have one side of the raised bed built up higher  to take the carrots and the longer veg? is that a good idea?
also when do you know there ready to be harvested?
 im growing some garlic and strawberries and a bit of corriander at the moment in a small test patch dont know when to get the garlic out of the ground though!
any advice is very much appreciated

cheers
james

Trillium

Re: how deep?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 03:21 »
Welcome to the forums. Parsnips in particular can grow about 2 ft long so you'd need a bed at least 3 ft high for them. Carrots are usually a bit shorter at a few inches to a foot long. But be aware that in the UK you'll have a serious problem with carrot fly unless your beds are over 2 ft high. Some folk grow these 2 in old bathtubs which are an ideal height against the destructive fly.  The other veg you mention can be grown in a bed a minimum of a foot high.
Garlic depends on when you planted it out. Fall planted garlic will be ready in July or so when you see the leaves dying down.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 10:55 »
Are you building your beds over soil or over concrete?
If they are over soil ..if you dig it first (and put some compost or manure on if you can) then obviously this counts as some of the required depth of bed:)
The beds are then built up just about the depth of a scaffold board and all the vegs seem to grow ok in them.If you use this height of beds for carrots you will have to protect from carrot fly with enviromesh or similar :(  you could also grow your carrots in blue drums these are so high they seem to escape the fly...that's what they do on the local lottie :)