Help!

• 11 Replies

rebecca.smiles

Help!
« on: May 17, 2011, 23:58 »
I posted a couple of weeks ago about my new chickens not eating, well one went 'lame' until i discovered it was mareks. I take her to the vets to be put down tomorrow (she is a sorry sight) the other seems well but now i have discoverd she keeps pecking just above her tail; lifting her feathers and scratching. i took a look and she has a little nodule of flesh there, like a miniture little finger of flesh sticking stright up. its not a cut, but a growth i presume.

i'm new to keeping chickens, i only got two and I've only had them 5 weeks and the whole thing from start to finish has been distressing; watching them lose weight, they are 29 weeks old and not laying, trying to figure out what is wrong, thinking i hurt one of them to make her lame. ..

...and now this glob of weird flesh. I don't know if this one, olga, has marek's, but the way thing are going i don't have high hopes.

sorry to dump this on the forum, but family are kind of 'there there, you can get new ones'
why get new ones? i can't keep these two.

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
Re: Help!
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 00:48 »
Hi rebecca, I can't help you with the general chicken health issues or the marek's but I can assure you that the nodule above her tail is perfectly normal!  :)  It's her oil gland that she uses to keep her feathers shiny and waterproof.  She will rub it with her beak and head, and spread the oil from there over her feathers.

I hope that eases your concerns a bit.  Will be thinking of you with your girl at the vet tomorrow. 

dannyboy2010

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 08:17 »
hi rebecca, sorry to hear about your problems. one of mine had mareks. and all i can say is make sure you take the ill one away from the others......which im sure you have. and  give your coop and feeders and drinkers a good clean. and just keep your eye on the others. i did this and i never had a problem again.

all the best