Hi. Total Newbie

• 9 Replies

Jane74

Hi. Total Newbie
« on: July 17, 2015, 10:43 »
Hi. Just thought i would introduce myself as i am new to the forum, and allotments! I just took over my plot last week, and im currently trying to get it under control as it was very overgrown! I say 'was'.. three quarters of it, still resembles a jungle..
I would be very grateful for any words of wisdom to get me started. Its all quite overwhelming, but i am going to have fun trying :)
Thanks! :)

Fairy Plotmother

Re: Hi. Total Newbie
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 12:15 »
Hello and welcome Jane. Take it easy, you'll enjoy it more if you don't wear yourself out!

cadalot

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 13:42 »
Hi and welcome, punt around the Articles and Advice button at the top and you will get to http://www.allotment-garden.org/allotment/index.php and there is guidance there on clearing a new allotment. I highly recommend keeping a Diary and lots of photographs so you can look back and see how much you have actually done.

My original diary from getting the plot can be found at http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=100234.0 - Check out the Dairies looking at the photographs gives you lots of ideas and is especially useful during Winter months when it's too dark to get down to the plot to do stuff

Jane74

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 15:15 »
Thank you for replying. I will take a look around the forum :)

snowdrops

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 15:25 »
Hi there Jane74, nice & slowly does it, as Cadalot says have a look at those links etc, but just clear a little & plant it up to give you something to aim for, 'all work & no play makes Jack a dull boy'. As you say have fun
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2015, 17:22 »
Welcome to the site  :D
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

ARPoet

• Experienced Member