advice on run floor materials please

• 4 Replies

bullielover

advice on run floor materials please
« on: January 03, 2011, 20:17 »
Hi I am new to the forum but have already spent some time looking through all the posts. I am new to keeping chickens and am still in the process of setting up the coop. I,m looking for peoples thoughts on the different floor coverings for the run area. I am unable to place the run on grass in the short term and wondered what people thought of using course sand as a base. I,m also open to any other ideas/advice anyone can offer.

thanks
catherine
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 20:35 by Aunt Sally »

Jeanette

Re: advice please
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 20:27 »
I use bark that i get from B@Q the last time i bought some it was £5.60 approx and if you bought 3 bags you got the 4th free. It is easy to put down just throw the contents of the bag on the floor in the run stand back and the girls will soon be sorting it through for you. It is easy to keep clean and it helps to stop it getting to muddy. If possible have part of the run covered so that the food and water will stay dry and clean also the girls can stay under cover if they want. :)

bullielover

Re: advice please
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 20:34 »
Thanks for that Jeanette. I had thought about bark but thought it may have to be the kiddies playground type. Also wondered if the sand would be beneficial in that it would be quite absorbant hence easier to clean out, and being course sand it could be used as grit.

catherine

swedishchicken

Re: advice on run floor materials please
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2011, 23:41 »
Hi
I use topsoil that I buy from b&q. They love bathing in it. It is fairly inexpensive and I can pick up their poop easily as it rolls in to a little ball. Also it helps with the ground not becoming poultry sick, if you have something that you can dig over.