New Allotment

• 6 Replies

Glo

New Allotment
« on: September 10, 2014, 15:11 »
Hello everyone.  I'm a novice who has taken on a new allotment which was previously a field so you can imagine what the it's like.  Weeds, weeds and more weeds which we are digging out very meticulously.  My questions is:  what do we need to add to the soil to improve it.  I would say that the soil has some clay (not much) and does not rake very well.  The plot is 50' x 25'.  What would members suggest that's not too expensive but would help the soil.  Access is not too good so I would have to barrow whatever we buy to the plot.  Thoughts very much welcomed.  Thanks

snowdrops

Re: New Allotment
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 22:26 »
Manure is relatively cheap, but you need to check it's source as there is a weedkiller used that stays in the manure that needs to be avoided, I just can't remember it's name. Or any well rotted compost from your garden etc will all help to improve the soil. Read the advice on the home page of the site about clearing a plot
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

Goosegirl

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2014, 12:40 »
Mushroom compost is fairly cheap, plus could you have it delivered to the site when you are there as it would save you barrowing it.
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

Nobbie

« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2014, 13:25 »
It's nearly autumn, so start collecting all the leaves you can and make a big enclosure out of chicken wire fencing to stop them blowing away. Builders bags are good for collecting the leaves in as they are big and have handles to drag them along with. They're the ones that you get sand and gravel delivered in. After a year you've got some good material to mulch with to keep the weeds down. I'd avoid oak leaves as they take a bit longer to rot down.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2014, 13:27 by Nobbie »

keeper

• Trevorl
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2014, 19:55 »