New allotment

• 12 Replies

lydia56

New allotment
« on: September 11, 2010, 15:56 »
Hi Iam a newbie here and from north yorkshire.I have just got my 1st allotment, phew!it is covered in long dead grasses and weeds, what should i do before i get in the boys toys of cultivators (not that i know which i should use!)
all advice welcome

Dave Mack

• Zillionaire
Re: New allotment
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2010, 16:16 »
Hiya lydia56 ... welcome to the forums  :)

Y.E.A.H

• I love growing unusual vegetables!
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2010, 16:39 »
welcome  :D

MitchGriffin

« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2010, 17:10 »
Hi Lydia,welcome to the world of allotments,I to am a newbie to the allotment. When I got mine it was a virgin plot!!!,but  like you lots of long dead grass and weeds.As well as dead motorcycle parts breeze blocks, tar,11pence and very large boulders.But don`t be put off !!!.That was  about two month ago just over I have had spuds, aubergines and I have cabbage and Brussels (both of which were transplanted from my back yard) growing away.I found out regrettably from one of our fellow plot holders,to hand dig a bit at a time before using any thing such as a Rotavator.Poor chap had hires his and broke some tines so he had a small bill.Another plot holder has put heavy black plastic down to kill of the weeds.Hope these may help.Above all have fun!!!! :D,try lots of things out and see what works for you.take care enjoy.Kind regards Mitch Griffin.

adal

• Man Of the World
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2010, 20:00 »
Hello and wecome to the the site :D

Nige2Plots

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2010, 20:15 »
Hello and welcome to the site that has the lot! Nige2plots.

JamPan

• Experienced Member
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2010, 20:44 »
*waves from North Nottinghamshire*

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2010, 09:54 »
Welcome to the site  :D