I am new to this, keep the fox away!

• 9 Replies

ginger

I am new to this, keep the fox away!
« on: March 12, 2009, 22:26 »
I hope you can give me some valuable advice. I have been told that male urin will deter a fox but I,m not sure if its an old wives tale. I will try most things!

Vember

Re: I am new to this, keep the fox away!
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 22:29 »
Hi again Ginger :)

We have a sticky here which is all about protecting against fox attacks :)
http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=25998.0

I wouldn't like to trust the urine as a deterrent, you can't beat tall weld mesh fencing in my opinion :D

Sarah :D

ginger

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 22:53 »
 :)Thanks but my chucks play in the garden and my kids play with them. Scared of electrifiying them too! Wish us luck! :unsure: :) :)

shiatsusu

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2009, 10:10 »
We had a debate about this as Vember says and although male urine may put them off it won't keep the chooks safe- I only leave my girls in the garden when I am home to keep an eye on them. You really need a securely fenced area to put them in for when you aren't there to be sure Mr F stays out.

ginger

« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2009, 21:32 »
Thanks for that.
All my neighbours are retired and have dogs too and have said they will look out for my girls. Am I bieng nieve? There dogs have free reign in the day so will allways be around. :mellow: :)

shiatsusu

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2009, 22:14 »
Hmm, my experience is foxes are mighty crafty and watch for days to work out who's where and what they can get away with. I think probably "better safe than sorry" springs to mind.

poultrygeist

« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2009, 08:42 »
It's a gamble ginger. You won't be the only one taking it by any means but they do get craftier and more determined as time goes on. Often as we get more complacent. :(