polytunnel

• 10 Replies

mark

polytunnel
« on: January 29, 2006, 21:33 »
i am going to build a Polytunnel  on my allotment and i am going to use scaffolding pipes  and Plastic  pipe bent over. but i am struggling how to fasten the plastic to the tubes  and to get the tension :? .iam a total newbie to this so all the help please thanks :)  :)  :)

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
polytunnel
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2006, 08:59 »
Hi Mark

I'm no expert on this but did see a  chap on the site build one he bought. Apparently the metal heats up, which reduces the polythene life, so he applied an anti-heat tape to the hoops. This was shiny on the top with a sort of thin foam backing and then the sticky.

To get the tension he dug a trench (about 9 inches deep) down the sides and buried the polythene into them. Put one side in, bury, then one or two chaps pulled tight while one put soil into the second trench.

It was quite an operation and more work than I thought it would be.

Now, of course, he's a smug devil - working in there when it rains on the rest of us :)
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

mark

polytunnel
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2006, 16:22 »
Thanks John. Now I have to go around the building sites to see if I can salvage any plastic. :lol: I dont like paying for it if I can help it.  :wink:  :wink: They are getting used to me popping around.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
polytunnel
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2006, 17:55 »
That's what I call true allotmenteering - buy nothing you can beg!!!

We have a site skip about three times a year. It's so funny, people come and put stuff on to it then someone else runs over and bags it. Waste not, want not.

mark

polytunnel
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2006, 20:11 »