Totally new and wanting ongoing advice.

• 15 Replies

The Red Baron

• Total newbie to all this green lark but willing!
Totally new and wanting ongoing advice.
« on: May 07, 2013, 11:49 »
Right then, first of all, hi!
I'm due to get my plot in the next week or so and plan to spend the rest of this year at least getting it sorted (I'm a perfectionist!). Here's the initial plan,
1) Strim down all the waist high weeds, grass etc etc.
2) clear the plot of rocks, wood, glass and rubbish.
3) spray the whole blooming thing with Gallup 360 ( I'm sheeting the fence so the spray doesn't affect anyone else's plots)
4) lay down black plastic to help the weedkiller out ( how long should this be down before the next step???)
5) hoe down all dead weeds and burn the lot.
6) Rotivate the whole plot,
7) manure the full plot and turn this in.
8) build my paths, raised beds, greenhouse etc
9) have a beer and a sit down.

So, how does this plan look? Any advice and constructive criticism welcome.
Thanks muchos

Tony

The Red Baron

Re: Totally new and wanting ongoing advice.
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2013, 11:50 »
Oh by the way I'm in the north east.....up Newcastle way,

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2013, 13:07 »
Hi there and welcome to the Site.

Please will you add your location to your profile, so we can see it with each of your posts;)

I'll move this over to the GYO board so you can get some answers, although this is a good start
http://www.allotment-garden.org/articles/Clearing_a_New_Allotment.php

The Red Baron

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2013, 13:15 »
Yeah will do, I'll have a look at the link as well.
I love a good read and have had a look through a good few books....how does my plan look then?

ThePragmatist

« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2013, 13:19 »
Hi,

Good luck with the plot!