sick courgettes

• 4 Replies

MarkG

sick courgettes
« on: April 24, 2008, 15:58 »
Hi All,

I'm new to allotments, got my first plot in January. I've planted potatoes, shallots, onions garlic, got some herbs, chillies and runner beans in seed trays doin nicely, but....

..my courgettes don't look happy. I think they've caught something.

I've posted some pictures of the leaves below. I looked up in the gardening book and it says that courgettes can suffer from the Cucumber Mosaic Virus, and the description of a yellow-green mottling fits.

'Afflicts not only cucumbers, but also marrows and other related plants. Usually transmitted by aphids, it may alos be carried on the hands and garden tools.

SYMPTOMS Greenish-yellow mottling of leaves and fruit. Plants become stunted and fruits puckered.

DANGER PERIOD Growing season.

PREVENTION Control aphids by spraying. Destroy infected plants at first sign of symptoms.'

The seed trays came from the allotment, but I was careful to wash them with boiling water, straight from the kettle. Maybe not thorough enough though. They've been grown in the house, I've no greenhouse. It's still early and I can plant some more, but I was pleased with how well they were doing and had just repotted them (symptoms were there before repotting but not as servre). Anyway, the poor blighters will be consigned to the brown bin for the council to cart away and I'll have another go.

Any tips on how to avoid disease in seedlings are most welcome, and can anyone confirm Cucumber mosaic virus.

Thanks,

Mark.

Trillium

sick courgettes
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 18:05 »
Looks like you have both cucumber virus and leaf blight (the brown spots).