kale

• 18 Replies

Spana

kale
« on: May 10, 2013, 15:58 »
Just bought a packet of kale Winnetou. Its the first time i've grown it and just wondered if it will attracts cabbage whites and need protecting. I dont get bird damage but do get a lot of caterpillars on cabbages which is why i've stopped growing them. Have i just taken on another load of netting problems.

Thanks

rachelsco

• Experienced Member
Re: kale
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2013, 17:13 »
im no expert but i would of thought if the harvesting period is say oct to april (overwintering) then that is when it is mostly picked for eating, and i dont see too many caterpillars/butterflies around at that time.
so..... if you can get it through the summer by netting and picking off the little beasts, get it big and healthy to get through the winter then come harvesting time it should be good to go.

as i said im no expert but this has worked for me with other overwintering brassicas. :)

Pigeons though, they are another story ::)

Beetroot queen

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 17:30 »
Kale for me in a nightmare which is a shame as I like growing it, even netted it's covered in White fly, clouds of the blighters. Even in winter, I am not sure if enviromesh would be better than debris netting but it's seriously put me off and enviromesh is not cheap

sowitgrowit

• Experienced Member
  • Allotmenaut
    • Money saving, grow your own-ing blog
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2013, 17:37 »
This will be my first year growing Kale too.  I was told it was easy-least.  I'm not sure if that is in comprison to other veg, or other brassicas (which I struggle with).
Live like a peasant,
eat like a king!

rosegarden

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2013, 17:49 »
I grow kale every year and it definitely will need protection from pigeons!!  Also don't forget to stake it as I grow mine on a site which is quite windy and it will suffer  Also water well.  Good luck it does taste delicious!!

Spana

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2013, 20:04 »