which chickens do i choose?

• 17 Replies

thegoodlife

« on: August 17, 2008, 09:06 »
Hi, I am new to keeping ckickens, and forums. I want to choose some chucks for my kids that are friendly, decent layers and wont fly over a 6ft fence into my neighbours garden.
Any advice will be gratefully appreciated.... Thanks...Mark :)

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2008, 10:56 »
Hi Mark welocme to the forums  :D  you can expect loads of replies  :lol:

Me I'd go for hybrid warrens, smallish friendly bird, lays very well and usually very friendly. And doesn't go broody as a general rule even if they do they soon forget  :roll:
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

poultrygeist

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2008, 12:45 »
Welcome from me too Mark.

The only breed I know about is Amberlinks so i won't try to influence you at all, but Richy knows his stuff.

I'll pop this thread into the Hen House, where you may get more answers.

Pop over to the Welcome forum to introduce yourself to a wider audience.

Rob 8)

mickwood

• Experienced Member
    • Our Lotty
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2008, 13:13 »
Hi Mark!

I'm a newbie myself and you'll DEFINITELY be getting some great advice/support off the guys here  :D

With regards to neighbours and chooks here's what I decided on. I live in a terraced house so am short of space and have neighbours in close proximity, so I decided on no cockerels as I didn't want the morning call to annoy the neighbours! This doesn't affect egg production etc.

I also decided on 'Bantam' rather than 'Large Fowl' basically smaller chickens, which give a proportionally smaller egg. Because my garden is smaller it makes sense to have smaller chooks!