battery hens

• 19 Replies

dollybird

battery hens
« on: August 21, 2010, 18:46 »
hi we got 8 battery hens this afternoon( poor things), we have put them in with the nest boxes and they have a small area enclosed as well. we also have a big run attached to it which we will letthem into tommor,6 are either sat in nest boxes or stood in corner which we expected but 2 are stood just pecking at the side panel and have done this since we got back  could this be stress ? is there anything i can do to make life easier for them.thanks jackie

alancane

• Experienced Member
Re: battery hens
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2010, 19:12 »
I am no expert, but my thoughts might be that they are stressed and disoriented. I would leave them in the coop tonight and I think they will settle down. Keep it nice and dark and secure.

If you can imagine the life they have had and now that has all changed. A little bit of love and care and they will soon forget it all.
Alan

NormandyMary

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 19:17 »
I agree with Alan. Well done getting ex-batts and making their lives wonderful at last. I dont know whether they sell ex-batts over here, I would ge some if they did, so that I too could give the poor things a chance of happiness.
Im sure in a few days they will all be doing what our hens do. Have you got to knit them little jumpers or are they not too badly off feather wise?
Can we have some piccies of their progress please?

Carla

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2010, 19:24 »
I get my ex-batts tomorrow dollybird, were yours from a BHWT rescue? I've been told that Im to just leave them locked inside the coop until the morning after, so they get used to 'home' and that they may well show weird behaviour for a while as they've never had a chance to be chickens and dont really know what to do.
What state are yours in, feather and strength wise and is it as heartbreaking as I'm imagining it to be (but happy too)?
Woo-hooo, a fellow ex-batt owner  :D xx