can u keep different breeds of cockerals together

• 7 Replies

kimjen

can u keep different breeds of cockerals together
« on: March 21, 2011, 13:15 »
 :hi everyone; i am new to the world of poultry and love learning more and more my question is can i keep different breeds of cockerals in the one large shed with large field attached

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: can u keep different breeds of cockerals together
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2011, 13:23 »
Like hens they have a pecking order but whereas with hens you get a bit of pecking with cockerels it can lead to the death of one of the cockerels if one doesn't back down. I have 6 cockerels - 2 sabelpoots who don't fight with each other but they do tell the little Belgian off every now and then, and 3 araucanas. My old boy is 7/8 at least and he is top boy and splits his time between chasing the girls and chasing off the other 2 youngsters (both of which were hatched last year). Luckily they have plenty of room to get out of the way. They also sleep in separate areas - old boy in the coops, and the other 2 in different sets of trees at opposite ends of the garden.
What breeds and sleeping arrangements for them will you have? Are you hoping to breed different breeds of chickens? If so how are you going to stop the different breeds from cross breeding - they aren't particular as to who they mate with  ::)
Staffies are softer than you think.

hillfooter

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2011, 13:36 »
You have more chance of them getting along if they have been raised together.  Introducing two mature cocks might be rather difficult if not impossible, particularly if they have or had their own hareems.  Separated cocks with separate hareems will also try to fight if they can get at one another.  When separated securely they will have incessant crowing contests which if you have neighbours will be a possible problem.