Which Hen House ?

• 27 Replies

stamford

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.chelseafc.com
Which Hen House ?
« on: June 10, 2008, 22:49 »
Hi all, Newbie here !! Need to decide what size Coop to buy, looked at Ebay and ideas-4-pets.com and seen this ( 360057799879 ) which i thought would of been fine and in budget but then got the tape measure out and its only 3ft high - Looks huge !!  I have quite a bit of room in the garden and I'm a big guy at 6'1 so i dont really want to be kneeling down cleaning them out. A guy I know has one which houses 6 birds and its about 8 ft long - 34ft wide and atleast5ft plus high which would be ideal for me...Is there any good stores or sites where a sizeable one like this could be found ?? Or is the one on ebay a good enough size ? I'm only looking at 3 birds max at the moment but maybe a couple more in the future... Thanks in advance

mumsy

Re: Which Hen House ?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2008, 23:04 »
Quote from: "stamford"
but maybe a couple more in the future... Thanks in advance

Hi & welcome, unfortunatley chicken keeping is so addictive it is almost impossible not to expand :D  :D  :D
I think the coops you are looking at are good for the money, give them a call they may be able to tailor make one for you
Good luck

stamford

• Experienced Member
Which Hen House ?
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2008, 07:36 »
Thanks mumsy, but really on a tight budget already so I dont think a taylormade would be as good a price as the one i'm looking at now. This is the one we're hoping to get, would it be suitable ?

http://www.ideas-4-pets.com/pages-productinfo/category-247_197/product-2472/products-for-chickens-chicken-coops-and-chicken-runs-rabbitshack-small-chickenshack-chicken-house-rs709s-r-s.html

Hope the link works !!  :?

poultrygeist

Which Hen House ?
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2008, 09:06 »
That seems to be excellent value. It doesn't say how big the run is but you could estimate from the house sizes.