Potatoes - How does a newbie tell the difference between blight and mineral defi

• 12 Replies

WeeJo

Hi Guys

This is my first year on the allotment and I noticed that my potato plants have small brown spots on some of the leaves (not all). :(

I did spray an anti fungicide about a week ago and I'm hoping that it's not blight.  I think maybe a mineral deficiency (magnesium perhaps).   :unsure:

I'm digging up all my earlies today, just to be sure, but I have King Edwards which should be in the ground for quite a while yet and I don't want to lose them to the dreaded blight.

Any suggestions on how to tell the difference and what I can do, if anything to save some crops if it is the early stages of early blight?

All advice more than welcome.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Have a look at this thread, which is found in the Growing Section - FAQs sub board  :)

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=56717.0
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

WeeJo

Thanks Yorkie,

I've checked out some photos but it doesn't look like blight to me, so far.  But As Ive never seen it in real life I am not convinced.  It's so hard to tell. :unsure:  Also otherwise the plants are looking really healthy.

I thought that I might cut of and detroy the affected leaves and see if that helps.  And I have sprayed with a vegetable fungicide spray.  Plus I'm going to put down a general vegetable feed to help with the nutirient side of things.

Aside from that I might just start praying to the potato gods!   :lol:

Worst case scenario, how early can you dig up king edwards?   ???

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones
King Edwards are a maincrop and as such, aren't normally harvested until September. When did you plant them? They take 15-22 weeks to mature into a decent crop.
"They say a snow year's a good year" -- Rutherford.

WeeJo