froglet feast

• 13 Replies

Laydies

froglet feast
« on: May 03, 2010, 19:56 »
Bank Holiday and I'm gardening, like most of you! - and my Laydies were 'helping' - I'm fairly new to keeping them - we've had them about 2 months now..   and seeing them freerange at close quarters was wonderful but I was truly amazed at what they ate..blimey! Henavie tucked into a poor froglet that didn't quite hop it in time! down in one!!  :Pfollowed by a lovely huge wriggly worm..  :blink:I never thought she would get that down, but she did!   Laycey displayed a fondness for snails - shell aswell,  :wacko:followed by a nice pupae and Cazpee, well she seems to prefer bugs....   :tongue2: and I had thought, watching them from kitchen sink duties  that they were only pecking at the grass and perhaps enjoyed the odd ant!   We did find a rather large frog who had decided that if he kept really, really still, he may just survive... they looked at it with one beady eye, then  with a quick turn of the head, spyed it with the other eye..  decided it was too big to eat, so just walked over it instead....   gardening has never been so much fun! :D
however... there is a serious question in here...   this all seems a good natural diet to me.. but can anyone see any problems with them eating whatever they find?   

Elcie

Re: froglet feast
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 20:18 »
Hi Laydies, they sound like they have had a brilliant day!  I might be wrong but I think the biggest concern would be that they can get worms from eating slugs/snails so make sure that you worm them regularly.

Laydies

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2010, 21:08 »
yes, I've heard I need to worm them...  I know that they arrived 'ready wormed' but I think it needs doing every 6 months? 
I'll seach the site - I think just about every topic is covered on here somewhere.......

JCK

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2010, 22:16 »