Weed killer

• 7 Replies

France16

Weed killer
« on: September 22, 2011, 11:14 »
Hi, I am new to the Allotment, so would appreciate your advice.

I live in France and inherited a large veg plot (large to me ) and I have successfully grown a few vegetables on a small section of it to "have a go" and quite enjoyed reaping the results. I have a big problem with weeds as the garden has not been used for a couple of years, I would like to kill them all off and start from scratch. Can anyone recommend a good weedkiller that I can use, but then also be able to sow new vegetables etc.

Thank you.

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Weed killer
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 11:16 »
Welcome to the forums!  :)

I have moved your post to the "Grow your own" forum as it is about growing vegetables (eventually!)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

bigben

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 11:42 »
There are many glyphospate based weedkillers that are effective. Others will perhaps fill out the details about which is best value. I have used Roundup where I diluted and sprayed it. For it to work plants need to be actively growing so if you plan on using it you need to do so soon or it may be too cold and the plants will not take it in. I think you can use it within about 6 weeks of planting but I would try to do it now and consider doing it again in the spring as stuff starts to appear again.

Stevens706

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2011, 12:46 »
When I first got my allotment I used Glyphosate to start and clear the weeds, roundup is expensive what I used was a concentrated Glyphosate (Wilco’s) with a dash of washing up liquid added, the washing up liquid is to help the weed killer stick to the leaves.
Paul

mumofstig

• Global Moderator