How much soil and what type?

• 9 Replies

newseed

« on: February 22, 2008, 09:45 »
Hi, this is my first attempt at growing my own, I have a very small garden and I am putting a raised bed made of link a bord, its only 1m wide by 2m long. I am not sure how much soil to buy and what type.
I am hoping to grow things like leeks, carrots, beetroot, runner beans and salad crops.  Any advice regarding the soil would be appreciated.

noshed

« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 09:56 »
You can use anything that isn't too expensive - cheap grow bags, multipurpose compost, mixed with garden soil. Bung a bit of blood fish and bone in and you're away!
What are you standing it on? It's better if you can put it on soil - if so, fork that a bit before filling the bed to improve the drainage.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

newseed

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 10:48 »
I am debating whether to put the frame on soil about 2' away from my leylandii hedge that I put in last year or I may take up some of the lawn and lay it further from the hedge as I have read the the leylandii will take all the moisture out of the ground.
Thanks for the tip on the type of soil, do you know how I work out how much I need?

noshed

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 12:31 »
I'd be inclined to site it away from the hedge if you can. Apart from anything else it will be dry and you want to be able to get round all four sides for weeding etc.
If you're putting it on a lawn someone on here recommended recently cutting off the turf and putting it in upside down in the bed. Then start filling with anything you can lay your hands on - eventually you'll be using your own compost of course...
Hard to know how to calculate - get a few bags and see how you go. The 99p shops are doing grow bags at the moment for example.

andrewjwalsh

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2008, 15:11 »
Hi Newseed,