cheapest green house

• 15 Replies

veggies

cheapest green house
« on: March 06, 2010, 12:01 »
I have been looking for a new ( my 1st green house ) on the net and trying to find the best bargain, where would you say is the cheapest place for a green house off about 6x6 or 6x8, cheers,

also if i put some large pot around the garden, will soil in etc what could i grow ......I am very new to this and hope to get into growing my own veggies etc for the kids, cheers folks. Paul

penance

Re: cheapest green house
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2010, 12:14 »
I got a Popular 6x8 from the greenhouse people last year for about £350, was best deal at the time.

Dont bother with polycarb windows, unless you like the idea of chasing them when a brezze picks up.

Shaney D

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2010, 12:24 »
got an 8x6 polycarb from buyaparcel.com last year less than £300 and £3.95 postage.

Good greenhouse, seal the polycarb in with clear silicon onto the glazing gasket and they will all stay in place. well i haven't lost any anyway.

Has pro's and cons against glass

hope it helps

Shane

digalotty

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2010, 13:02 »
hi veggies you can grow most things in pots, what would you or they like to grow ?
may i suggest that kids like to see things happening so a tomato plant may be a good idea and salad leaf mix grows realy fast and you can cut it and it will grow back , a favourite with kids also is carrots you can get them round golf ball ones that are especialy for pots and courgette, radish, dwarf french beans and a potatoe kit £6 from homebase you get 3 varietys of potatoes and 3 sacks to grow them in with instructions, there is nothing more exciting than turning out a spud pot to see what you have and they can be ready in 8weeks.
why dont you buy johns book as advertised on here and you will get free seeds worth more than the book  ;)
also check out the bbc dig in programme they are giving step by step instructions