Compost Bin

• 15 Replies

La Jardinère

Compost Bin
« on: February 14, 2009, 10:01 »
I am a newbie and so am doing everything for the first time.  I bought one of those green plastic "dalek" compost bins and have been merrily filling it up.  I read somewhere that you need to " turn" your compost heap regularly to keep it working - how is this achieved with one of the bins like mine please?  :unsure:
LJ

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: Compost Bin
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 10:07 »
Welcome to the forum.

You could lift it off and place it by the side of the compost.  A good kicking will help ease it off.  Then refill.
Cheese makes everything better.

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 23:25 »
Unfortunately, Ice is right. That's the big problem with those dalek type composters - almost impossible to turn the contents, which is how you get the lovely compost. If you don't wish to do this, simply leave the bin as is for about a year and it'll do the job itself. Meanwhile, build one that's accessible and add fresh stuff to that.

mrsdirtyboots

• aselfsufficientlife
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2009, 09:16 »
We're lazy, never turning the compost.  It's fine though - means you might wait longer for your first batch of rotted down goodness.  But so long as you have enough bins on the go you'll end up with a regular supply in the future.  Haven't used plastic bins for years but we always found them quite fast - maybe as they stay pretty damp?

Mrs Dirty Boots

Towards a more Self Sufficient Life
« Last Edit: February 20, 2009, 19:52 by john »
Mrs Dirty Boots

towards a more sustainable future

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2009, 19:58 »
Poke your fork through the top and mix it around that way
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

FRUITFULL

« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2009, 18:32 »