New bantams

• 11 Replies

Lola

New bantams
« on: July 31, 2010, 21:53 »
Hi, i'm new to the site and the proud new owner of two POL light Sussex bantams (my first time keeping poultry). I have had them for 4 weeks now and they have settled in really well and are becoming very tame with great characters. They are in there house at night and a run during the day. I would love for them to be able to forage around the garden when I am there to supervise them, but am worried about them flying off. I have read mixed views on light sussex bantams ability to fly. I have fencing approx 5 ft high around my garden. Would I be safe to let them out?

Any advice would be most appreciated.

jobson336

• Experienced Member
Re: New bantams
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2010, 23:13 »
welcome to the site, im a newbie but have been using the site for a few weeks now and everyone is really helpfull when needing advice on anything you could imagine!

Make sure you clip one of the wings (not both) this will reduce the chance of getting over the fence. also be aware that they will still be able to jump up and perch on various things such as the coop, bins etc and could then jump over the fence, from my experience (limited admittedly) of my own hens, as long as there is plenty of food and water for them they have no reason to look to fly over or jump the fence.
im sure they will be happier having a good nosey around.
good luck  ;)

Lola

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 00:31 »
Hi, thank you for your advice. Think i'll give it a go tomorrow and let them have a wander around, as want them to be happy and hopefully they know there surroundings now. Fingers crossed they don't escape! Will let you know how it goes.

Thank you.

Mulberry1990

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2010, 01:03 »