How old would you put chicks out side with a heat lamp?

• 6 Replies

jules66

We have hatched 10 chicks, they are now nearly 2 weeks old. I have them in a bedroom in a cage with a heater.
There feathers are growing, but was wondering when they could be transfered outside to a small shed with the heater.
This is my first time of hatching chicks.

Chookiechook

• riverside quails
Re: How old would you put chicks out side with a heat lamp?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 17:11 »
I used to keep mine indoors for ages... but the dust was really getting on my nerves... not to mention the smell!!

I am now barbaric and shoot them out the door as soon as they are up and running.... usually within  24 hours!!!

I have either lamps.... on a cage that is surrounded by bubble wrap... but this gets a bit sweaty inside which I dont think is good for the chicks..... or a bought electric hen in another cage... or two other cages with home made leccy hens.....

All the chicks that I have put outside have survived so far!!!!   and so far this year its around 150 chicks :)
I love Pekins, Polands and Seramas :) and eggs!!!

traacyken

• Experienced Member
  • my boy troy!
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 20:08 »
when i got my inky eggs the guy had the little uns outside in a home made brooder in his shed with the l proper heat lamp  they were all fine and happy, prob 2-4 days old so long as not too draughty in there, id go for a sturdy box rather than a cage def, ive got my first lot of eggs in the inky :) got my lamp and box ready so hope all goes well :mellow:, x

poppies

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 22:21 »
Hi we put ours out in the brooder at 24/48 hours old if you keep them too warm they take longer to feather up, make sure it is draught proof though

TeaPots

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2010, 22:42 »