Sad Looking Bird

• 8 Replies

dad3

Sad Looking Bird
« on: November 09, 2011, 12:40 »
I'm still quite new to chicken keeping - about 9 months. One of my 3 birds has been looking quite sad the last couple of days - stopped laying, sulking in a corner of the garden, not eating much, slow out of the coop in the morning - which is not at all like her. She likes to think that she's the boss and is usually first up and out in the morning. Worst of all she has been doing very runny poos.  :(

I'm quite worried because we lost one of her original chums under similar circumstances shortly after getting them. That one started off in the same way and faded away over the space of 10 days. Don't want that to happen again.

Any suggestions about what it could be and where I should start?

helens-hens

Re: Sad Looking Bird
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2011, 12:48 »
Runny poos could be a sign of worms - have you looked at the poo pics:

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=17568.0

When did you last worm them and did you use Flubenvet?

Let us know
Helen

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2011, 12:51 »
also are they laying? if so when did she last lay, she could have a soft shelled egg on the way.
Staffies are softer than you think.

dad3

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2011, 13:03 »
Have checked out the poo pics and recognised one of them!  No sign of worms in the poo but wonder if this might be the cause.

I've been using small amount of diatom powder in the food as I was told that this helps control internal parasites but haven't used flubenvet. I'll now give it a go. I've also read that cider vinegar in the water can help.

No egg from her since end of last week. Not worried about this at first because she dosn't lay every day anyway but given other symptoms perhaps there's a bit more to this.

helens-hens

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2011, 13:35 »