chickens

• 16 Replies

sueb123

chickens
« on: October 02, 2012, 20:24 »

hi i have 1 chicken which was laying regular up until 6 weeks ago she is about 20 months old, i have had her broudy but we got over that, and i know she is not broudy now, also i have 2 bamptons which have never laid they are about 8 months i would be most greatfull if someone could help.
ps i hope i have done this right because this is my first time in writing
many thanks
Sue Bailey

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: chickens
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2012, 20:27 »
Hello and welcome to the Forum.
I'll move your post into the The Hen House where you should get some help  :)

darkbrowneggs

• Experienced Member
    • Dark Brown Eggs
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2012, 20:47 »
Hi there and welcome  - your 20mth old is probably due to moult and re-grow a new set of feathers.  

Hens do not have the energy to grow feathers and lay eggs, so generally will cease lay for a couple of months.  If she is a high laying hybrid she may well start again after than, otherwise she will wait till the days begin to lengthen sometime after Christmas I have never heard of a Bampton, but now the days are shortening younger birds may again choose to start their lay as daylight hours improve.  You may be lucky and get them start this month, otherwise it will be Jan probably.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2012, 15:45 by darkbrowneggs »
I love my traditional clean legged English Cuckoo Marans

yaxley

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2012, 21:08 »
Hi and welcome to the forum ...... :)

''I have never heard of a Bampton '':unsure: Think this may be a spelling error think it may be bantams ..
Grow organic as nature intended

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2012, 10:15 »