Too Late For Manure ?

• 11 Replies

RichT

Too Late For Manure ?
« on: February 22, 2008, 12:50 »
Im new to growing and need some advice!

So last week I cleared my new allotment from its over grown state and dug it over.  However I am unclear weather its too late to dig in a manure or not ?

I'm going to grow, spuds, leeks, beans, parsnips, cabbages.

I understand that some need manuring, but not fresh especially roots - question is which will be ok to manure now and which wont ?

I'm also chitting my potatoes ready for planting at the begginig of April

Is it to oearly to start of the beans under cloches and the rest in trays in a coldframe ?

any advice would be much appreciated?

Thanks
Richard

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Too Late For Manure ?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 13:00 »
Advice on it way Richard

Do pop up to the Welcome forum and introduce yourself  :D

gregmcalister

• Experienced Member
Too Late For Manure ?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 13:03 »
I would say manure would be alright for everything except the parsnips.  That's if the manure is already rotted down.  I haven't had a chance to manure my plot yet but I'll get it down as soon as the weather improves.  I've also started some cabbages and leeks indoors so they should be ready for planting out when the weather improves.  I don't see a problem starting the beans off just now but you need to make sure they're not getting planted out when there's still a danger of frost.  I'm sure there are others who'll be able to offer a bit more.

RichT

Too Late For Manure ?
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 13:04 »
Quote from: "gregmcalister"