Air fryers...

• 11 Replies

Growster...

Air fryers...
« on: September 11, 2023, 14:51 »
We've been given an Amazon voucher by a daughter, and are wondering about an air fryer!

Does the team consider they're worth the expense, (the vouchers are worth £100.00) and as I like to get my sleeves rolled up in the kitchen more these days, I was wondering what points there are to look out for!

We're certainly not 'foodies', but like 'normal' dishes, and don't have as much these days, as we're getting on a bit...

Any ideas anyone please?
« Last Edit: September 11, 2023, 14:52 by Growster... »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Air fryers...
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2023, 14:56 »
I know some people swear by them.

They do take up quite a lot of worktop space, so if you are pushed for space that might be a consideration.

I've no direct experience so can't add anything about their use though.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2023, 16:56 »
I love mine and use it a lot.  It is one with a pull out basket at around the £60 mark.  The cheap ones that start at around £40 are very small, so it is worth moving up the range a bit.  The basket itself gets hot, so I tend to pull it right out and put it onto a pan stand to add or remove stuff.

£100 with a small amount added would get you a duel basket one, or one with a fold down door with a window in it, like a mini oven.  The duel basket ones are a boon for families, but I’m not sure you would get the benefit of it cooking just for 2.  The oven one would be handy if you want to use it to do stuff like pizza that needs to lay on a baking tray or lots of elements of a meal in one.