Frogs and frogspawn taken over pond

• 8 Replies

mrs mud

Frogs and frogspawn taken over pond
« on: February 19, 2012, 19:44 »
I am new to ponds having bought the house just two months ago

We have a pond, it appears to have one large (10 inch) black goldfish.  A few days ago I noticed a large mass of spawn, say the size of a melon.  Yesterday I saw 15 or more monster sized frogs going daft in the pond, darting about like crazy.  Today another mass of spawn has appeared and the frogs have taken over, it's crammed with them.  I don't want to interfere with nature so I am leaving them to it, however I am a tad (ha ha sorry) worried about the one fish.  Will he be ok.
"Potters always play dirty!"

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: Frogs and frogspawn taken over pond
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2012, 20:02 »
The fish is big enough to avoid the amorous embraces of any over enthusiastic male frogs, he will be just fine  :D

The later the fish will eat  alot of the tadpoles as they leave the spawn, and have  areall good feed.

Black birds love these too btw

We haven't got any spawn yet, so  am bit envious  ;)
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

spottymint

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2012, 21:53 »
If only you wern't so far away, O/H would love it.

He rescues the frogs spawn every year, so the fish can't eat it, hatches & raises them in a tank, till frogletts & releases them back to the wild life pond.

We did have a small barbel (grey flecked colour) the frogs did crush that, but never goldfish.
I'm sure the fish will be fine, same can't be said for the tadpoles, but then, that's nature.

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2012, 00:01 »