Where do you get your plug plants from?

• 8 Replies

Snap Dragon

• I want chickens... and ducks!
    • http://thedragonsden1.blogspot.com/
« on: January 25, 2008, 21:55 »
Or 'ready made plants' as my daughter calls them!!

By the time I get my lottie cleared I won't have had a chance to have bought a greenhouse to start any seeds off in so I am going to have to sow straight into the ground and buy plug plants where necessary.

Do you buy your plug plants from the local garden centre and go with whatever varieties they have or do you have them delivered by post to get the varieties you want? (If you don't have a supplier nearby)

As this is my first year on the plot I will probably experiment with whatever is available and play it by ear!
Snappy 

No amount of time can erase the memory of a good cat, and no amount of masking tape can ever totally remove his fur from your couch.

I could give up chocolate but I'm not a quitter.

Sally A

« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 22:03 »
Chances are some of the guys on your site will sow too many, especially things like toms and courgettes, so barter with them.  they'll be growing varieties they know will do well in your area - so less chance of failure than buying by mail or garden centre.

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 22:53 »
I agree with Sally - the old guys know to sow more than they will need so may have some to pass onto you.

failing that, the seed companies often also sell plug plants (at a premium!) try www.suttons.co.uk - I have bought plants from there before

HTH,  su

PAH48

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 00:00 »
As I was late getting my lottie last June, weeding it ect ect ect.