Ducks have you ever seen this.

• 14 Replies

orchardlady

Ducks have you ever seen this.
« on: September 12, 2010, 22:31 »
Hi there, I'm very new to duck keeping but have kept free range hens for about 15 years. I found two of those vile huge rusty orange/brown slugs motoring towards my plants in the flower boarder. I picked them up and presented them to the ducks. Definite interest. However one duck picked one slug up and in a few moments dropped it and rushes to  the water and was clearly swishing it's mouth out. The other slug did not fair so well though. Another duck pounced on it and took it to the water and did a great deal of swishing the slug in the water, removing it , vibrating it in it's bill and then returning to the water and repeating the process. I'm thinking that these were slugs that tasted horrid in some way. These ducks want for nothing, duck pellets ad lib, cabbage, tomatoes, plums, lettuce etc. etc. Free range in a lovely grassy field in the afternoons they definitely do not have to work hard to survive yet this one duck was very insistent that this slug was going down! What do you think?

EJCTM

• keen gardener and keeper of chickens and ducks
Re: Ducks have you ever seen this.
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 13:20 »
Hi there,

Don't worry, this is quite normal! With really large slugs, the ducks often have to beat them up a bit!

When caught, slugs exude a really sticky slime designed to deter the predator. You will notice this if you pick one up and hold it in your hand for a few minutes, and the slime is almost impossible to wash off without some form of abrasive.